Buy or Bye | MUR Conceal & Define Concealer

For the longest time over my makeup journey, I have thoroughly been perplexed with concealers because they could never satisfy my preference. Either it was the shade or the formula, concealers have always been a challenge for me.

Makeup Revolution released a brand new concealer not so long ago and all the beauty gurus on YouTube and beyond went gaga.

I ordered it myself off online (hoping I would at least get the right shade) and it got delivered a few weeks later. I placed my order at The Pink Shop and the product cost me ৳700, which was definitely a rip off because this concealer retails for only £4.

All the deets and tea: ☕

So, the product comes in a pretty rose gold tube (can’t believe the makeup industry hasn’t moved on from this color yet) and it looks very chic. The first thing you will notice is the huge-ass doe-foot tip! Like whoaaa…

giphy-downsized

The concealer is super creamy to touch and blend and it’s pretty thick. The thickness threw me off because I was almost certain it would crease on me. I mean the Fit Me! concealer being super thin and low coverage sits horribly on my skin. At this point I feel like the problem is my under eye area and not the “flop” concealers I have used over the years.

Anyways, back to MUR. When I first applied it,the doe-foot distributed the product evenly; it was very satisfying. 😛 You may think you are applying a lot of product and you probably are, but this concealer blends out PERFECTLY! It blends like a dream. I have used it with 3 very different foundations with different finishes and it performed same in all 3 cases. What wasn’t upto par was it’s coverage, but that could also be my ginormous dark circles’ fault. So, I went with a second coat and luckily enough, the product didn’t bunch or turn blotchy or even cake up. 😀

The second coat really did the trick. Another factor could be the tools I used. I blended it with a Real Technique’s complexion sponge which generally does soak up more product than an actual beauty blender and a brush. Usually I don’t like blending concealers with brushes and I would definitely not recommend using this with a brush either mainly because this baby dries up in seconds and the finish is kind of a budge-proof matte finish. I also used a setting powder underneath my eyes to prevent any creasing.

Concealer-post
Left: without concealer, Right: with concealer Please ignore my undone eyebrows 😦

Another thing I enjoyed about this formula is it doesn’t emphasize the texture under my eyes, because matte products tend to do that on my face. This just sat perfectly on my face and my under eyes without looking cakey, exaggerating my texture or creasing. It was blended perfectly with decent coverage, all for £4 – I mean ৳700. >.> (Still mad about that)

Now, throughout the day the coverage does wear down, but I really don’t mind it, I can’t expect any makeup (unless it costs like $100) to perform like an Audi at the price of a Maruti Suzuki. This was more like the performance of a Volkswagen. Yeah. If this was a car it would be a Volkswagen. 😛 HOWEVER! The concealer didn’t crease at all! (Hallelujah!) ☘️

Another issue I’d like to clear is about it’s scent. Many people have complained about it including beauty guru MakeupShayla. This really doesn’t smell like anything. It has no definite fragrance and I am almost 100% sure it was a batch defect.

One complaint that I do have is regarding its shades. I know it comes with a huge shade range, but I wasn’t totally satisfied with the shade I got. I ordered C12 which was said to be for medium to dark skin tones of neutral undertone which I am. The shade did match me well, (probably the best out my entire concealer collection lol) although I will probably buy a lighter shade for highlighting. The issue was the undertone of it which was almost on the pinky side. I expected it to be neutral, perhaps a little on the beige side, but it was kinda pink. I didn’t mind because I often wear cool-toned complexion products, but definitely for someone with a heavy warm undertone, it might be a challenge. Another shade I got was C10 (for a friend) which was said to be on the warmer side, but its swatch looked pretty pink too. This trend probably exists throughout the entire shade range as UK based products are notorious of being inflexible with their undertones even if they claim they are not.

All in all for only £4, I’d say go for it. For an everyday, medium to full coverage concealing, even for glam makeup looks, you can use this product with confidence that it won’t look cakey or crease. I will certainly purchase more shades very soon.

What product should I review next? Let me know in the comments below! Till then, I hope to have you read my next post. 😀

 

Read my last Buy or Bye: Magnificent Metals Eyeshadow

~XO’s

Leave a comment